Overview

OLG Opportunities in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Job title: Looking for full-time care for our 2 and a half year old daughter. This is a live-in position

Company:

Job description: Spectacular Northern lights, moutain views and a laid back slow paced small town experience is what you can expect in Norman Wells! Norman Wells is a small town in the Northwest Territories along the Mackenzie River that offers a great sense of community and family. My husband and I moved here 10 years ago from Ontario on a 1 year teaching contract and we liked it so much we decided to buy a house and stay. This job is a live-in position that will require you to re-locate to a small town in the north. Flights will be covered as part of the contract. The contract would be for 10 months and the hours of work would be Monday-Friday 8-4. Start date would be mid to late August 2024. There is plenty of time for vacation days as well with 2 weeks off at Christmas and 2 weeks off for spring break. These holidays are usually when the local AuPairs choose to travel or visit family, but you are also welcome to stay and explore the north if you choose. Potential to extend contract if desired. We have 4 children (2, 4, 6 and 8), but only need care for our youngest daughter as the older 3 will be going to and from school with us as we are both teachers. Our daughter is still in diapers and naps in the afternoon some days. There is a local playgroup for 2 hours on Tuesday and Thursday each week at the local community centre just around the corner and you would need to have your licence to be able to drive her there. It’s a great space to socialize the little ones and get some time yourself to visit with other caregivers. You will also have the chance to set up playdates with other parents or AuPairs if you like or just watch our daughter at our house, whichever you prefer. We also have a 3 year old beagle cocker spaniel. Your responsibility would include letting her out into the yard a few times during the day to go to the bathroom. We can chat during an interview about what your expectations are about other tasks you will be able to manage. An advantage you have in choosing whether you want a position with us is that there is no daycare facility in our community so it is common for families to have a nanny or AuPair live with them which means there is a network of contacts that you can speak to about their experiences to see if it is the right fit for you. This network of Au Pairs are a fun group of girls to hang out with and establish new friendships with! After an interview we could give you their contact information if you are interested in learning more about the job. Our daughter is obsessed with the movie Tangled at the moment and she loves to play with just about anything! She is growing more independent each day wanting to help with everything and also do things on her own like put on her shoes or put peanut butter on her bread. Her language is exploding so she is able to tell you what she wants which takes out the frustrating guess work. She is shy at first, but attaches strongly to new people once she gets to know them and especially if her big sister shows an interest in them. Her big sister (4) is very social and gets along with everyone so we don’t have any worries that after a short time you will become one of our little ones favourite people! Norman Wells is a small community with opportunity for participating in a variety of workshops offered throughout the year to do things like learn traditional beading, sewing, drum making, jelly and tea making among other things. You can get a gym membership, join a hockey team, go skating or drop in to join a basketball or volleyball game at the school gym if you are interested. There is cross country skiing and curling. In the winter there is only a few hours of daylight and in the spring/summer only a few hours of dark. It’s quite amazing to experience both! In May everyone looks forward to river break up where huge chunks of candlestick ice pushes up onto shore off the Mackenzie river. I have been a stay at home mom since having my first son 8 years ago and I am looking forward to getting back to work, but only if I can find someone who is enthusiatic about living in the north. The main priority of course is childcare, but my husband and I also want to provide an exciting and unique experience to someone who is interested in exploring a new part of Canada! We want to make sure that the successful candidate will enjoy their time here and feel like a valued part of our family during their time with us and not just an employee. If this sounds like something you’d be interested in, we’d love to chat answering any questions you have as well as get to know more about you too

Location: Inuvik, NT

Job date: Fri, 05 Jul 2024 00:33:17 GMT